Monday, December 14, 2009

One Gold Medal Only for Each Finalist

Both Indonesia and Malaysia won a gold and silver medal in Laos SEA Games in badminton team event. In the men's event, Indonesia beat Malaysia 3-1. Sony Dwi Kuncoro made Indonesia lead 1-0 as he defeated Muhammad Hafiz Hashim 22-20, 14-21, and 21-12.

However, Koo Kien Keat and Tan Boon Heong of Malaysia equalized the score 1-1 with a 19-21, 22-20, and 21-10 victory of Markis Kido and Hendra Setiawan.

Simon Santoso's 21-18, 21-13 triumph over Kuan Beng Hong made the score 2-1 for Indonesia. Ultimately, newly-made pair Nova Widhianto and Mohammad Ahsan secured the win after shocking old pair of Malaysia Zakry Abdul Latif/Fairuzizuan Tazari in straight sets, 21-18 and 21-17.

Nevertheless, Indonesia failed to clinch the women's gold, losing 1-3 to the same opponent. Malaysia's Wong Mew Choo subjugated Adrianti Firdasari 21-18 and 21-17. Wong Pei Tty/Chin Eei Hui added more point for Malaysia as they beat Shendy Irawati/Meiliana Jauhari 21-17 and 21-13.

Maria Kristin gave one point for Indonesia as she overpowered Lydia Cheah 21-8, 21-9 in just half an hour. But Lilyana Natsir and Greysia Polii could not equalize the score and gave up 21-19, 12-21, and 18-21 to Woon Khe Wei/Ng Hui Lin.

To summarize, Indonesia won 1 gold medal from men's team and 1 silver from women's team. Malaysia gained the same result as Indonesia, but the gold medal is from women's team and the silver medal is from men's team. Thailand and Singapore each obtained 2 bronze medals.

No comments:

Post a Comment