Saturday, December 5, 2009

Unbeatable Winners into Final

Lee Yong-dae celebrates semi-final win with his partner Jung Jae-sung

2008 Super Series Finals men's doubles finalists, Lee Yong-dae and Jung jae-sung, reaches the final of Super Series Finals as they shattered the dream of local favorites, Zakry Abdul Latif/Fairuzizuan Tazari, in just two sets, 21-18 and 21-11.

The former world number one will face Denmark's Mathias Boe and Carsten Mogensen whom they beat in China Open final last month. Boe/Mogensen vanquished Group A winner Guo Zhendong/Xu Chen of China 21-19, 21-17.

Lee Yong-dae/Jung Jae-sung hopes to win their first Super Series Finals title with assuring results in Group B. They topped Group B by winning all matches without even losing a set. Boe/Mogensen were in the second position of Group B. Thus, no Group A contenders play in the final.

This final will be easier for Lee/Jung since the defending champions Koo Kien Keat/Tan Boon Heong were on the third position in Group A.

In women's singles, Wong Mew Choo achieves her first final in her Super Series Finals debute with a 21-10, 21-10 win over Yao Jie in the semi-final. Mew Choo only won a super series title, China Open 2007. Even though she was not ranked in top 8, she could play in Super Series Finals because many great players did not play.

Mew Choo will compete against unseeded Juliane Schenk in the final. In the semi-final, Schenk ousted top seed Sania Nehwal of India with a 21-18, 21-18 victory.

Local favorite Lee Chong Wei progresses to men's singles final after beating last year finalist Peter Gade in just straight sets, 21-17 and 21-16. He will play Korean Park Sung-hwan who surprisingly eliminated Bao Chunlai of China 21-14, 21-14.

Other semi-final results:

Women's Doubles
Kamila Rytter Juhl (DEN) def. 2-Cheng Wen-Hsing/Chien Yu-Chin (TPE) 21-17, 10-21, 21-16
1-Wong Pei Tty/Chin Eei Hui (MAS) def. Duanganong Aroonkesorn/Kuchala Worawichitchaikul (THA) 21-15, 21-18

Mixed Doubles
Diju V/Jwala Gutta (IND) def. Robert Mateusiak/Nadiezka Kostiuczyk (POL) 21-19, 21-11
Joachim Fischer Nielsen/Christinna Pedersen (DEN) def. Anthony Clark/Donna Kellogg (ENG) 21-13, 21-17

picture by

No comments:

Post a Comment