Sunday, August 23, 2009

Subduing Teammates

Macau Grand Prix 2009 finals were filled with compatriots except for the mixed doubles event. Chinese pair He Hanbin/Yu Yang opened the final match as they subjugated unseeded Hendra Aprida Gunawan/Vita Marissa 21-14 and 21-9. The top seeds only need 29 minutes to capture the mixed doubles title.

The next match is women's singles event. Third-seeded Wang Yihan of China beat compatriot Jiang Yanjiao, seeded 6, in a tough rubber-sets 16-21, 22-20, and 21-11.

All Top Seeds Win

In the men's doubles, the contenders are the two top-seeded players. World number two Koo Kien Keat and Tan Boon Heong played against countrymen Choong Tan Fook and Lee Wan Wah. The Malaysians gave an exciting show as Koo/Tan took the first set 21-14.

In the second set, Choong and Lee left 23-year-old Koo and 21-year-old Tan 7-3. Koo/Tan never led this set afterward. The second seeds won the second set 21-17. However, the defending champions rose to gain the title after winning the third set 21-12. The final score is 21-14, 17-21, and 21-12 for Kien Keat and Boon Heong.

Yu Yang/Du Jing of China set up women's doubles final with senior Zhang Jiewen/Yang Wei and achieved the trophy with a 21-16, 21-11 win.

2008 Macau finalist, Lee Chong Wei of Malaysia, defeated teammate Wong Choong Hann who seeked his first title of this year, 21-15 and 21-19. Though Choong Hann created 14 smash winner, compared to Chong Wei's 12, his 7 net winners were far behind Chong Wei's 14.

They chased each other's points until it reached 16-12 for Chong Wei in the first set. In the second set, Choong Hann led 13-5 and 15-11, but Chong Wei equalized the score to be 16-16 and he led the set subsequently and won it 21-19.

China had 3 titles from women's singles, doubles, and mixed doubles. while Malaysia had 2 titles for men's events. The only non-Chinese or non-Malaysian finalists are Indonesian Hendra Aprida Gunawan and Vita Marissa who played in the mixed doubles.

Final (8/23) Results:
1-Koo Kien Keat/Tan Boon Heong (MAS) def. 2-Choong Tan Fook/Lee Wan Wah (MAS) 21-14, 17-21, 21-12
1-Lee Chong Wei (MAS) def. 4-Wong Choong Hann (MAS) 21-15, 21-19
1-He Hanbin/Yu Yang (CHN) def. Henra Aprida Gunawan/Vita Marissa ((INA) 21-14, 21-9
1-Yu Yang/Du Jing (CHN) def. 3-Zhang Jiewen/Yang Wei (CHN) 21-16, 21-11
3-Wang Yihan (CHN) def. 6-Jiang Yanjiao (CHN) 16-21, 22-20, 21-12

No comments:

Post a Comment